College 2.0

I’ve always really liked going to school. I never got the best grades, but when it was something I was interested in, I was there. That’s sort of the tricky part, isn’t it–when it was something I was interested in. I’ve come to notice how important it is for passion to drive you. When I was studying for my undergraduate, I really enjoyed all the reading and writing I did. I liked being creative, using that creativity in my work and studies, and ultimately not dreading every waking moment of my college career. The thing was, writing wasn’t hard. It never really presented a challenge for me. My studying amounted to re-reading passages in different works of literature which I could use in during an open-ended essay exam. Ambiguity is a beautiful thing. In the literary world, there is no right or wrong answer. It’s all about relevance.

Upon graduating, I had high hopes for getting my ass in gear. I was going to get a job! Gasp! And I did, just not in my “field”–which honestly, what is my field? I can read, that’s for damn sure. But no one is going to pay you to sit around and read books all day…and if they are, where can I find them? In all seriousness, the ambiguity of literature is as much a blessing as a curse. That ambiguity begins to create a problem in the job market. It’s this weird, uncomfortable gray area–a degree in English can take you so many directions, but which do you follow? Where do you go? You have no specific skill set, nor did you learn a specific set of traits. To the job market, your ambiguity is a risk. Most times, those risks are better off…un-risked? There is no experience behind reading and writing; most people assume everyone can do it, which is certainly NOT the case. But most people can get by with it, which is the truly unfortunate thing.

This ambiguity is the reason I have been serving and bartending for the last 2+ years. I’m really not all that ashamed to say it, because I make great money for what I do. Yes, the connotations that come with it are what they are–that we are lesser because we work to serve others. But it’s so much more. When you eliminate all the negative people who enjoy being genuinely unhappy, the job isn’t so bad (As much as I want to bad mouth every disgusting person who every bitched me out because of their food, or experience within a restaurant, I won’t….because I could go on, and on, and on…..). It’s a way to get by, a way to survive. And for me, it’s actually been what has led me to the next step in my life!

Since January, I’ve been working out steadily. I get up, have my little wakeup routine, get dressed, drink my pre-workout, and hit the gym. I usually go 3-4 times a week, depending on my work schedule. It makes me feel so so so so so much better, physically and mentally. I helps me relieve some stress, without even noticing I’m doing it. I feel more determined, more motivated since I’ve kept it up. I’ve never really dreaded being there, and if I wasn’t feeling it, I left. No point in ruining it for myself. But that’s besides the point…and is better left to another post.

Taking all of this into consideration, I will be going back to school to get my degree in Sport and Exercise Studies. There are a few certificate programs you can take in addition to the degree so you are qualified for different branches within the field. I can pursue Personal Training, Physical Education, etc. Since starting this fitness journey, I’ve really grown to love exercising and learning what my body can do. I am amazed every day how I am able to push myself and physically see the results. It’s unlike any other feeling–there is no ambiguity just pure, natural results. It’s amazing, and I am so excited to start this next step in my journey!

 

 

~whatever forever~

 

L

Leave a Reply

